This sixteen-volume reader set covers a selection of the great books of western culture – “Old Western Culture” as C. S. Lewis called it.

From Homer to 19th century authors this reader set contains the high-water marks of literature as well as a few relevant lesser-known works. Each reader in this set matches nicely with a unit in the Old Western Culture video course or they can be used on their own.

Two of the books are still in production. A common question is “why is unit one, The Epics, missing?” The reason is that we are working with Wes Callihan on a new edition of Homer’s Iliad! It will be worth the wait! Slated for a late 2020 release.

NEW: Order all 16 readers in one place!

The Greeks (Year 1)

The Epics

Y1 Q1: The Epics

Drama and Lyric

Y1 Q2: Drama and Lyric

The Histories

Y1 Q3: The Histories

The Philosophers

Y1 Q4: The Philosophers

The Romans (Year 2)

The Aeneid

Y2 Q1: The Aeneid

The Historians

Y2 Q2: The Historians

Early Christianity

Y2 Q3: Early Christianity

Nicene Christianity

Y2 Q4: Nicene Christianity

Christendom (Year 3)

Early Medievals

Y3 Q1: Early Medievals

Defense of the Faith

Y3 Q2: Defense of the Faith

The Medieval Mind

Y3 Q3: The Medieval Mind

The Reformation

Y3 Q4: The Reformation

Early Moderns (Year 4)

Rise of England

Y4 Q1: Rise of England

Poetry and Politics

Y4 Q2: Poetry and Politics

The Enlightenment

Y4 Q3: The Enlightenment

The Novels

Y4 Q4: The Novels

End note: we also hope to create a cloth-bound hardback version of each reader. We’re excited about this long-term project and we’ll be excited to let you know when it’s finished (or nearly so). Make sure you’re on our email list to keep up to date or shoot us an email ( We’d love to hear from you.