The Novels Reader


The Novels Reader accompanies The Novels unit of the Old Western Culture great books curriculum. Based on the Great Books of western civilization, Old Western Culture guides students through the literature, history, theology, and philosophy of the West from a Christian perspective.

Table of Contents

  • Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen
  • A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens
  • The Brothers Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoevsky (Selections from Book V)
  • The Bet, by Anton Checkov
  • De Descriptione Temporum, by C. S. Lewis

Note: while most readers contain all assigned reading for that unit, this unit does not include The Lord of the Rings, nor two essays by C. S. Lewis (widely available online). C. S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia is also discussed in the course, and though not assigned is recommended reading prior to this unit.

– ISBN: 978-1-944482-50-3 (paperback)
– Pages: 443
– Dimensions: 6×9 in.
– Format: Paperback
– Publication Date: 2020
– Author: Various authors from the early modern period.
– Series Editor: Daniel Foucachon
– Interior Design: Joey Nance
– Cover Image: At Pemberly (2020), by Joey Nance
– Assistant Editor: Carissa Hale
– Language: English